Ontario Severance

Disability Benefits — Ontario Employment Law

21 casesDecisions from 1983–2022

About Disability Benefits

Disability benefits in Ontario provide crucial financial support to employees who are unable to work due to illness or injury. These benefits are typically categorized into Short-Term Disability (STD) and Long-Term Disability (LTD). It's a common misconception that employers pay these benefits directly; in most cases, they are provided through a group insurance policy that the employer arranges and often contributes to. This distinction is vital, as it means an employee's claim is usually with an insurance company, not the employer itself.

The employer, however, still has significant legal obligations. Under Ontario common law, employers have a duty of good faith and honesty, which includes facilitating an employee's access to disability benefits. This means they must provide the necessary application forms promptly and not interfere with the claim process. An employer who obstructs a claim or terminates an employee for attempting to access benefits may face legal consequences.

Disability benefits frequently intersect with termination and wrongful dismissal law. If an employee is terminated without cause, they may be entitled to damages for the loss of a chance to claim disability benefits during their common law reasonable notice period. For employees already receiving LTD benefits, a key legal issue is whether those payments should be deducted from any wrongful dismissal award. The answer depends on the specific wording of the employment contract and the insurance policy—if the employee paid the premiums, the benefits are less likely to be deductible. The journey through a disability claim can be complex, involving detailed insurance policies and medical evidence, and understanding how your employment status affects your benefits is critical. Each situation turns on its own unique facts and the precise language of the governing documents, making a careful review essential.

Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between STD and LTD benefits?

Short-Term Disability (STD) provides income replacement for a limited period, typically a few weeks to six months, starting after a brief waiting period. Long-Term Disability (LTD) begins after STD benefits expire and can last for many years, sometimes until age 65, for employees who remain unable to work.

Can my employer fire me while I'm on disability leave in Ontario?

Your employer cannot fire you because you are disabled or on leave, as this would be discrimination under the Ontario Human Rights Code. However, the employment relationship can end through other means, such as the legal doctrine of 'frustration of contract' if it becomes clear you will never be ableto return to work.

My LTD claim was denied by the insurance company. What should I do?

You should immediately review the insurer's denial letter to understand their reasoning. Most policies have a strict, and often short, internal appeal process. It is highly advisable to seek legal advice at this stage, as you may have a claim against the insurance company.

If I get LTD payments, will they be deducted from my wrongful dismissal settlement?

It depends. If your employment contract or the insurance policy clearly states that benefits are deductible, they likely will be. However, if you paid all or part of the insurance premiums yourself, courts are often reluctant to allow the employer to deduct the payments from a wrongful dismissal award.

Are there deadlines for applying for disability benefits?

Yes, absolutely. Insurance policies contain strict deadlines for submitting an initial claim and for appealing a denial. Separately, there is a two-year limitation period in Ontario under the Limitations Act, 2002, to start a lawsuit against an insurer after a claim has been denied.

When should I talk to a lawyer about my disability benefits?

You should consider consulting a lawyer as soon as your claim is denied by the insurer, if your employer is obstructing your application, or if you've been terminated while on leave. The language in insurance policies is complex, and a lawyer can help you understand your rights against both the insurer and your employer.

Common Scenarios

  • An IT consultant on LTD for two years is informed her benefits will cease because the policy's definition of disability is changing from 'own occupation' to 'any occupation'.
  • A retail manager is terminated without cause and, two months into what would have been their notice period, is diagnosed with a serious illness requiring them to be off work.
  • An administrative assistant's STD claim for a mental health condition is denied by the insurer, who claims there is insufficient objective medical evidence.
  • A construction worker on an approved LTD leave receives a termination letter from his employer stating his role has been eliminated due to a restructuring.

What You Should Know

  • Always request a complete copy of your group benefits booklet and the master insurance policy from your HR department; the specific wording is crucial.
  • Keep a detailed log of all your symptoms, medical appointments, and communications with your employer and the insurance company.
  • Be aware of strict deadlines. Insurance policies have short appeal periods, and there is a two-year limitation period to sue an insurer in Ontario after a denial.
  • If your claim is denied or you face termination while on leave, seek a consultation with an employment lawyer to review your policy and assess your options against both the insurer and your employer.

Featured Cases

A. v. TST-CF Solutions LP

2022 ONSC 5339 (CanLII) · 2022-01-26

Wrongful Dismissal: 16-Year Employee Awarded 18 Months Notice

This wrongful dismissal case involved a plaintiff with over 16 years of service who was terminated at age 52 while disabled. The court found the termination was clear and unequivocal (with constructive dismissal as an alternative) and awarded 18 months' notice, applying the Bardal factors and considering the economic impact of the pandemic. The court also addressed whether the employer could deduct LTD benefits from damages and rejected claims for aggravated or punitive damages due to insufficient evidence of bad faith or discrimination.

constructive dismissal disability benefits mitigation reasonable notice wrongful dismissal

M. v. Pitney Bowes

2018 ONCA 381 (CanLII) · 2018-04-19

Former Employee Claims LTD for Injury During Employment

This was an appeal to the Court of Appeal from a trial judgment that held the former employee had no coverage under the employer's long-term disability policy. The employee suffered a traumatic brain injury during a work trip, returned to work for a time, quit due to performance struggles, and was later fired from a new job. The trial judge found the insurance policy stated no coverage existed for people not employed by the employer when applying for benefits. The Court of Appeal allowed the appeal and found the employee was entitled to coverage because the injury occurred during his employment.

contract interpretation disability benefits discoverability insurance limitation periods long-term disability

S. v Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal

2017 ONSC 2345 (CanLII) · 2017-04-13

Judicial Review: WSIA Tribunal Disability Benefits

This is a judicial review of the Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal's refusal to assign a third reconsideration request regarding the denial of disability benefits for carpal tunnel syndrome and psychotraumatic disability. The Divisional Court applied the standard of reasonableness and dismissed the judicial review, finding the Tribunal's decision reasonable as the applicant failed to present new evidence.

disability benefits judicial review standard of review workers compensation workplace injury

W. v Canadian Specialty Metals

2016 ONSC 4142 (CanLII) · 2016-04-14

This is an interlocutory proceeding concerning a wrongful dismissal claim where the plaintiff sought to amend their pleadings. The case involves issues related to disability benefits within the context of the employment termination dispute.

amendments to pleadings disability benefits employment law wrongful dismissal

R. v. Freightliner Canada Inc.

2015 ONCA 797 (CanLII) · 2015-11-20

R. v. Freightliner: Wrongful Dismissal Pleadings Appeal

This is an appeal from a motion judge's decision in a wrongful dismissal action involving a plaintiff terminated from employment and denied long-term disability benefits. The Court of Appeal addressed whether the plaintiff's Reply raised a new cause of action and whether the claim was statute-barred, ultimately finding that the pleadings provided sufficient notice and the claim was not barred.

disability benefits limitation periods pleadings wrongful dismissal

R. v. Manufacturers Life Insurance Company

2014 ONSC 7240 (CanLII) · 2014-12-15

Jurisdiction: LTD Benefits Under CBA - Weber Framework

This is an appellate procedural ruling concerning the jurisdiction to hear an employee's claim for long-term disability benefits under a collective bargaining agreement. The court applied the Weber v. Ontario Hydro framework to determine whether the dispute's essential character fell within the exclusive jurisdiction of the arbitrator or the courts, and addressed the propriety of adding the employer as a party to the litigation.

civil procedure collective agreements disability benefits jurisdiction labour relations

D. v. Great West Life Assurance Co. et al.

2014 ONSC 389 (CanLII) · 2014-01-29

Disability Benefits: Employer Obligations & Mitigation

This case addresses the employer's obligations under an employee benefit plan regarding short-term and long-term disability benefits for an employee suffering from anxiety, depression, and panic disorders. The court found that the plaintiff was disabled under the plan and that the employer failed to provide necessary supports, including rehabilitation and workplace accommodations. Additionally, the court ruled that the denial of the short-term disability claim was unjustified based on medical evidence and that the plaintiff did not fail to mitigate damages by not pursuing therapy.

disability benefits employee benefit plan employer obligations mitigation of damages

T. v. Navistar Canada, Inc.

2013 ONSC 4015 (CanLII) · 2013-06-11

T. v. Navistar: Jurisdiction over Post-Expiry Disability Claims

This is an interlocutory proceeding determining whether the court or a labour arbitrator has jurisdiction to hear a former employee's claim for long-term disability benefits. The plaintiff argued the claim arose after the collective agreement expired, while the employer contended that rights under the agreement survive its expiry and remain subject to arbitration.

collective agreements disability benefits jurisdiction labour arbitration

B. v. Canac Kitchens

2012 ONCA 61 (CanLII) · 2012-01-31

B. v. Canac: 24-Year Employee Awarded 22 Months Notice

The Court of Appeal for Ontario heard an appeal from a trial judge's award of 22 months' notice and damages for lost benefits in a wrongful dismissal case involving an employee with 24 years of service. The appeal focused on whether the trial judge erred in awarding damages for lost long-term disability benefits, imposing a mitigation obligation on a totally disabled employee, and awarding punitive damages without proper pleading. The court addressed the governing principles for entitlement to disability benefits and the limits on ancillary damages.

disability benefits mitigation punitive damages reasonable notice wrongful dismissal

S. v. W.

2010 ONCA 584 (CanLII) · 2010-09-13

Wrongful Dismissal: Deducting Disability Benefits & Mitigation

This is an appeal from a wrongful dismissal trial decision addressing whether disability benefits and gross sales from a new business should be deducted from general damages for wrongful dismissal. The Court of Appeal applied principles from Sylvester and Sills, finding the disability policy was privately placed and thus not deductible, and rejected the deduction of gross sales due to lack of evidence, though net income of $7,439 was deducted. The appellants were partially successful on appeal, and the respondents were awarded partial costs of $10,000.

appellate costs damages disability benefits mitigation wrongful dismissal

N.C. v. Canada Life Assurance Company et al.

2010 ONSC 4823 (CanLII) · 2010-09-02

Security for Costs: Disability Claim & Impecuniosity

This is an interlocutory civil procedure decision regarding a motion for security for costs in a lawsuit alleging entitlement to long-term disability benefits after a workplace injury. The court dismissed the defendants' motion for security for costs, finding the plaintiff impecunious and ruling that her husband's income did not create a legal obligation to fund the litigation, thereby avoiding the foreclosure of a potentially meritorious claim.

civil procedure disability benefits employment standards impecuniosity security for costs

R. Estate v. Ontario (Workplace Safety and Insurance Tribunal)

2010 ONSC 1033 (CanLII) · 2010-02-12

Judicial Review: WSIB Tribunal Decision on Disability Caps

A judicial review application challenging the Workplace Safety and Insurance Tribunal's interpretation of section 147(8) of the Workers’ Compensation Act regarding the capping of permanent disability supplements. The Divisional Court applied the reasonableness standard of review, finding no ambiguity in the statutory language.

disability benefits judicial review statutory interpretation workers compensation workplace injury

Alcatel Canada Inc. v. E.

2006 CanLII 108 (ON CA) · 2006-01-10

Wrongful Dismissal: 20-Month Employee Awarded 9 Months Notice

The Court of Appeal for Ontario heard an appeal regarding a wrongful dismissal case where the respondent was terminated without cause after 20 months of employment. The court upheld the trial judge's award of nine months' notice, applying the Bardal factors and considering the inducement to leave secure employment. Additionally, the court addressed the award of damages for lost disability benefits during the notice period and confirmed the trial judge's discretion in awarding partial indemnity costs.

appeal costs disability benefits reasonable notice wrongful dismissal

V. v. Sobeys Capital Inc.

2005 CanLII 4091 (ON CA) · 2005-02-23

Constructive Dismissal Appeal: Working Hours and Benefits

This is an appeal to the Court of Appeal from a decision regarding constructive dismissal. The employee alleged that mandatory closing shifts and delayed disability benefits constituted a fundamental breach of the employment contract. The Court dismissed the appeal, finding that the employer's actions were unintentional, compensated, or promptly rectified, and did not amount to constructive dismissal.

appeal dismissed constructive dismissal disability benefits employment contract

T. v. Guard Inc.

2004 CanLII 43912 (ON SC) · 2004-11-12

T. v. Guard Inc: Long Term Disability Dispute

A legal dispute concerning long-term disability benefits in an employment context. The case addresses issues related to disability coverage and damages.

disability benefits employment damages labour and employment long-term disability

D. v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Co.

2004 CanLII 30220 (ON CA) · 2004-09-21

Wrongful Dismissal: Notice Increased to 18 Months on Appeal

An appeal from a wrongful dismissal case where the Court of Appeal increased the notice period awarded by the trial judge. The trial judge had awarded 12 months' notice, but the appellate court adjusted this to 18 months based on Bardal factors, including long service. The appeal also addressed entitlement to long-term and short-term disability benefits and a motion for fresh evidence, which was dismissed.

appeal damages disability benefits reasonable notice wrongful dismissal

C. v. Clarica Life Insurance Co.

2003 CanLII 48219 (ON CA) · 2003-04-14

This is an appeal to the Court of Appeal from a motion judge's decision regarding long-term disability benefits. The employee sued the Toronto Transit Commission and an insurer for these benefits. The motion judge ruled that the civil action was permitted. The Court of Appeal disagreed, finding that the benefits plan was incorporated into the collective agreement and disputes had to be submitted to arbitration. The Court allowed the employer's appeal and dismissed the action against the Toronto Transit Commission.

collective agreements disability benefits insurance labour relations procedure

S. v. Children's Aid Society of the City of Belleville

2001 CanLII 8524 (ON CA) · 2001-04-30

This is an appeal concerning a wrongful dismissal claim where the employee became disabled during the notice period. The Court of Appeal addressed whether the employer must pay full damages despite the employee's inability to mitigate, whether disability benefits contributed to by the employee are deductible, and how statutory holidays and sick leave bank credits should be handled during the notice period.

damages disability benefits sick leave statutory holidays wrongful dismissal

B. v. Westinghouse Canada Inc.

1999 CanLII 1828 (ON CA) · 1999-03-29

B. v. Westinghouse: Aggravated Damages for Disability Assistance

This is an appeal from a trial judge's decision in a wrongful dismissal case involving an employee terminated after a workplace injury. The central issue was whether the employer's failure to assist in obtaining long-term disability benefits and its breach of procedural rules regarding medical reports justified an award of aggravated and punitive damages. The Court of Appeal addressed the legal principles governing such damages, including the requirement of a separate actionable wrong and foreseeability.

aggravated damages disability benefits employer obligations punitive damages wrongful dismissal

M. v. Camco, Inc.

1986 CanLII 2544 (ON CA) · 1986-01-13

M. v. Camco: Deducting Disability Benefits from Wrongful Dismissal Damages

This is an appeal concerning a wrongful dismissal action where the employee was dismissed without adequate notice. The primary legal issue was whether short-term disability benefits paid by the employer after dismissal should be deducted from the damages awarded for wrongful dismissal. The Court of Appeal held that the damages and disability benefits served distinct purposes, and therefore the benefits were not deductible from the damages.

collateral benefits damages deduction disability benefits wrongful dismissal