Long-Term Disability — Ontario Employment Law
Related Keywords
About Long-Term Disability
When an illness or injury prevents you from working for an extended period, Long-Term Disability (LTD) benefits provide a critical financial safety net. In Ontario employment law, LTD claims frequently sit at a complex intersection of insurance policies, workplace rights, and specific contractual obligations. While it is usually a third-party insurance company that evaluates medical criteria and actually issues the benefit payments, the employer remains deeply entangled in the legal realities of the process.
Workplace disputes surrounding LTD often exceed simple medical disagreements with an insurer. Employment law issues routinely arise regarding the administration of the benefits plan itself. For example, if an employer fails to promptly provide necessary application forms to an unwell employee, neglects to submit the 'Employer Statement,' or improperly cancels premium payments during a statutory medical leave, the employer themselves could face legal liability for effectively blocking the employee's access to benefits.
Another highly contested area is the termination of an employee who is either receiving LTD benefits or in the waiting period to qualify. Being on disability does not grant absolute immunity from legitimate, unrelated company restructuring. However, employers must navigate the strict protections of the Ontario Human Rights Code. Terminating an employee because of their disability or their reliance on a benefit plan is discriminatory. In cases where an absence stretches on for years with no reasonable medical prospect of a return to work, the employment relationship may eventually end through 'frustration of contract.' Even in these cases, the worker retains rights to minimum statutory entitlements under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA).
For unionized employees, enforcing LTD rights creates distinct jurisdictional hurdles. Depending on the exact wording of a collective agreement, a dispute over denied benefits may have to be grieved through a labour arbitrator rather than pursued as a civil lawsuit in the Superior Court of Justice—a legal boundary courts carefully monitor.
Because resolving disability coverage disputes involves navigating overlapping contracts, strict statutory limitation periods, and complex insurance definitions, evaluating your options requires more than a quick glance at a benefits summary. The interplay between your job status and your insurance rights is heavily dependent on specific circumstances, meaning a careful review of your individual situation by a legal professional is the most reliable way to protect your livelihood.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who actually pays my long-term disability benefits?
In most Ontario workplaces, LTD benefits are paid by a third-party insurance company (like Sun Life, Manulife, or Canada Life) rather than directly by your employer. Your employer's role is typically to pay the premiums, maintain the master policy, and assist in providing the necessary application forms when you become disabled.
Can I be legally fired while I am on long-term disability?
Yes, but only under specific circumstances. An employer can terminate someone on LTD if the termination is completely unrelated to the disability (such as a mass layoff), or if the contract has become medically 'frustrated' after a prolonged period with no prospect of return. Firing you because you took a medical leave is a violation of the Ontario Human Rights Code.
If I am part of a union, do I sue the insurance company if my LTD is denied?
This depends entirely on the language of your collective agreement. If the agreement obligates the employer to provide the actual benefits, you must usually grieve the denial through your union. If the agreement only obligates the employer to pay premiums to an insurer, you may have the right to sue the insurance company directly in civil court.
What happens to my LTD benefits if I accept a severance package?
Accepting a severance package and signing a legal release can jeopardize your ongoing or pending LTD claims. Many standard release forms waive your rights to all future claims against the employer and their benefits providers, which could inadvertently cancel your disability coverage or create issues with overlapping compensation.
How long do I have to fight a denied long-term disability claim?
Under the Limitations Act, 2002, you generally have two years from the date you receive a clear, unequivocal denial of your LTD claim to commence a legal action. However, insurance policies also have strict internal appeal deadlines that must be monitored carefully to keep your claim alive.
When is the right time to speak with a lawyer about my long-term disability issue?
You should seek legal counsel immediately if your initial LTD application is denied, if your employer is refusing to provide you with the application forms, or if your employer attempts to terminate your employment or offer a severance package while you are unfit to work.
Common Scenarios
- An employee goes on an approved sick leave, but the HR department fails to provide them with the long-term disability application forms before the policy's strict submission deadline passes, leaving the employee to fight both the insurer for the denial and the employer for negligence.
- A worker who has been on LTD for three years receives a letter from their employer stating the employment contract is 'frustrated' due to unlikely return, but the employer fails to pay out the statutory severance and termination pay required under the ESA.
- A non-union employee's LTD benefits are abruptly cut off at the two-year mark when the definition of disability changes from 'own occupation' to 'any occupation,' prompting them to file a civil claim for reinstatement of benefits.
- An employer undergoes restructuring and terminates a worker who is currently in the medical waiting period for LTD. The worker is pressured to sign a severance release that would instantly terminate their health plan, putting their pending disability claim at severe risk.
What You Should Know
- Always request a full copy of the actual master LTD policy or benefits booklet from your employer, rather than relying solely on a brief one-page summary or an HR representative's verbal explanation.
- Never sign a workplace severance offer or a general release while you are on medical leave or applying for LTD until an employment lawyer has reviewed how it intersects with your insurance entitlements.
- Keep a written paper trail of all communications with your employer regarding your disability; if they are delaying the submission of the required 'Employer Statement' for your claim, document your repeated requests for action.
- Do not assume that an internal appeal process with an insurance company pauses the two-year statutory limitation period to file a lawsuit; track your legal deadlines strictly from the date of your first denial letter.
Featured Cases
E.-F. v. Equine Canada et. al.
2026 ONSC 2721 (CanLII) · 2026-05-07Wrongful Dismissal: 4 Months Notice for Short-Service Director
This is an interlocutory proceeding involving a wrongful dismissal claim where the plaintiff sought summary judgment on reasonable notice and LTD entitlement. The court applied the Hryniak v. Mauldin framework to determine if a trial was necessary. While the court acknowledged the Employment Standards Act minimums and considered the Bardal factors for notice, it refused summary judgment on the LTD claim due to credibility conflicts and the need for factual findings regarding policy interpretation.
F. v. Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada
2026 ONSC 1855 (CanLII) · 2026-04-28F. v. Sun Life: Jurisdiction & LTD Dismissal
This case addresses whether a dispute arising from an employee's resignation and termination falls under exclusive arbitral jurisdiction via a collective agreement or can proceed as a civil claim for negligent misrepresentation. The court also examined whether an insurer's summary judgment regarding the termination of long-term disability benefits should be granted, finding genuine issues for trial regarding policy administration and credibility.
S. v. Stahle Construction Inc.
2024 ONCA 706 (CanLII) · 2024-09-23LTD Eligibility: Construction Supervisor Appeal Dismissed
This is an appeal from a trial decision regarding the respondent's eligibility for long-term disability benefits under a group benefits plan. The Court of Appeal dismissed the appeal, upholding the trial judge's finding that the respondent was disabled under the 'own occupation' definition and crediting his testimony and clinical records over contrary indications. The court also addressed procedural issues regarding the scope of remittal and the standard of review for mixed findings of fact and law.
S. v. Stahle Construction Inc.
2023 ONSC 5916 (CanLII) · 2023-10-23Plaintiff Found Eligible for Long-Term Disability Benefits
The plaintiff took temporary medical leave due to a hernia condition, during which the employer terminated his benefits without requesting supporting medical documentation. The plaintiff sued, alleging this prevented him from applying for long-term disability benefits. The court found the plaintiff met the definition of disability and was eligible for benefits, inferring negligence by the employer for its lack of action.
S. v. HSBC Bank of Canada
2023 ONCA 538 (CanLII) · 2023-08-11S. v. HSBC Bank of Canada: Leave to Amend Pleadings
This was an appeal to the Court of Appeal from a motion judge's decision dismissing the plaintiff's motion for leave to amend her statement of claim. The plaintiff had sued her employer and the insurer, Sun Life, for long-term disability benefits. The motion judge denied leave on the basis that the proposed amendments sought to withdraw an admission and add a statute-barred claim for relief from forfeiture. The Court of Appeal allowed the appeal, finding that the amendments did not withdraw a factual admission and that the request for relief from forfeiture was not a new claim. The plaintiff was granted leave to amend her pleadings.
S. v. Stahle Construction Inc.
2023 ONCA 265 (CanLII) · 2023-04-18S. v. Stahle: LTD Eligibility & Evidence
This is an appeal to the Court of Appeal for Ontario regarding the interpretation of an employee benefits plan and the admissibility of evidence in a long-term disability claim. The court addressed whether the trial judge erred in interpreting eligibility requirements for long-term disability benefits under the Mercon Booklet and in excluding the Great West Life insurance policy due to non-disclosure.
G. v. Desjardins Financial Security Life Assurance Company
2021 ONSC 417 (CanLII) · 2021-01-19This is a procedural ruling on a Rule 21.01(3)(a) motion regarding the Superior Court's jurisdiction to hear a long-term disability benefits claim. The court determined that the dispute did not arise from the collective agreement because the plaintiff was in a non-union position at the time of the alleged disability, thereby retaining jurisdiction rather than referring the matter to arbitration.
H. v. The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company (Manulife Financial)
2019 ONCA 975 (CanLII) · 2019-12-12Arbitration Jurisdiction: LTD Benefits & Collective Agreement
This is an appeal from a motion judge's determination regarding the jurisdiction of a claim for long-term disability benefits. The Court of Appeal for Ontario reviewed whether the claim was subject to exclusive arbitral jurisdiction under the collective agreement, applying the Weber test and the Brown and Beatty framework to categorize the dispute.
F. v. Manulife
2019 ONSC 6861 (CanLII) · 2019-11-27F. v. Manulife: Disability & Termination Notice
This is a summary judgment motion in a wrongful dismissal and benefits dispute where the plaintiff, a former employee, sought long-term disability benefits and challenged the employer's termination obligations. The court considered whether the statutory eight-week notice period under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 or the common law notice period applied, and whether the plaintiff's disability excused non-compliance with mitigation obligations in the termination agreement. The motion was dismissed as genuine issues regarding policy interpretation and the timing of the disability required a trial.
S. v. Royal & Sun Alliance Insurance Company of Canada
2019 ONCA 201 (CanLII) · 2019-03-14Severance Release Unconscionability: 14-Year Employee Appeal
This is an appeal from a summary judgment decision regarding the enforceability of a release of claims signed by an employee as part of a severance package. The employee, terminated after 14 years of service, argued the release was unconscionable because they did not seek independent legal advice. The Court of Appeal found insufficient evidence on the fairness of the transaction and the value of the claim, referring the issue to trial.
H. v. The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company
2019 ONSC 1194 (CanLII) · 2019-02-21Jurisdiction: Long-Term Disability Benefits Dispute
A procedural ruling concerning jurisdiction in a dispute over long-term disability benefits between an employee and their employer. The case addresses whether the court has jurisdiction under the Courts of Justice Act to hear the claim for insurance benefits.
H. v. The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company
2019 ONSC 279 (CanLII) · 2019-01-16Arbitrability of LTD Benefits under Collective Agreement
This is an interlocutory jurisdictional motion determining whether a claim for long-term disability benefits, provided through an employer's collective agreement, must be heard by an arbitrator rather than the Superior Court of Justice. The court analyzed whether the collective agreement established sufficient obligations to render the dispute arbitrable despite differences in definitions between the agreement and the insurance policy.
F. v. Halton
2018 ONSC 5675 (CanLII) · 2018-09-26F. v. Halton: LTD Benefits & Employer Duty
This is a summary judgment motion concerning a former employee's claim for long-term disability benefits. The court addressed whether the plaintiff's claim was barred by limitation periods and whether relief from forfeiture should be granted due to the employer's failure to provide necessary application forms. The court denied summary judgment for dismissal of the plaintiff's claims against the employer and legal counsel, finding the contractual limitation period unenforceable and granting relief from forfeiture.
M. v. Pitney Bowes
2018 ONCA 381 (CanLII) · 2018-04-19Former Employee Claims LTD for Injury During Employment
This was an appeal to the Court of Appeal from a trial judgment that held the former employee had no coverage under the employer's long-term disability policy. The employee suffered a traumatic brain injury during a work trip, returned to work for a time, quit due to performance struggles, and was later fired from a new job. The trial judge found the insurance policy stated no coverage existed for people not employed by the employer when applying for benefits. The Court of Appeal allowed the appeal and found the employee was entitled to coverage because the injury occurred during his employment.
M. v. Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada
2017 ONCA 567 (CanLII) · 2017-07-04M. v. Sun Life: Jurisdiction over Collective Agreement Benefits
This is an appeal regarding the jurisdiction of the court to hear a dispute over long-term disability benefits for a unionized employee. The Court of Appeal held that disputes arising from the interpretation or administration of a collective agreement, including benefits, must be resolved through arbitration and are outside the court's jurisdiction.
B. v. The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company (Manulife Financial)
2017 ONCA 164 (CanLII) · 2017-02-27B. v Manulife: Arbitrability of LTD Benefits
This is a procedural ruling on a motion to strike a claim for lack of jurisdiction. The Court of Appeal for Ontario determined that a dispute concerning the termination of long-term disability benefits is arbitrable under the collective agreement rather than within the jurisdiction of the Superior Court, applying the Weber analysis to establish the exclusive jurisdiction of the labour arbitration process.
M. v Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada
2017 ONSC 686 (CanLII) · 2017-01-27Arbitrator Jurisdiction: Long-Term Disability Benefits
This is a procedural ruling regarding the jurisdiction of arbitrators versus courts in a labour and employment dispute involving unionized employees and long-term disability benefits. The court applied the Weber framework to determine that the dispute arose from the interpretation of the collective agreement and thus fell within the exclusive jurisdiction of an arbitrator. Additionally, the court found that the insurance company acting as administrator was not a proper party to the action.
F. v. Peel Educational & Tutorial Services Limited (Mississauga Private School)
2016 ONCA 468 (CanLII) · 2016-06-14Appeal Allowed: Just Cause Found for Falsifying Grades
This is an appeal from a wrongful dismissal trial involving a teacher dismissed for falsifying student grades and lying to the employer. The trial judge originally awarded the employee one year's salary and disability benefits, finding no just cause. A majority of the Court of Appeal allowed the employer's appeal, applying the McKinley principles to conclude that the severe misconduct and breach of trust constituted just cause for dismissal without notice.
F. and Peel Educational
2015 ONSC 3753 (CanLII) · 2015-06-18Wrongful Dismissal: LTD Benefits Deductibility
This wrongful dismissal case addressed whether long-term disability (LTD) benefits paid by the employer should be deducted from damages to avoid double recovery. The court applied the principle from Sylvester v. British Columbia, holding that LTD benefits are deductible where the employer is the payor and there is no evidence of intent to allow simultaneous recovery. The plaintiff was awarded 12 months’ salary in lieu of notice.
C. v. Canac Kitchens
2015 ONSC 73 (CanLII) · 2015-01-07Constructive Dismissal: 18-Month Notice for 18-Year Employee
This case addresses whether unilateral changes to an employee's reporting structure and responsibilities upon return from medical leave constituted constructive dismissal. The court applied the Farber test for fundamental changes to employment terms and determined the appropriate notice period under the Bardal factors. Additionally, the court considered claims for bad faith dismissal, moral damages, and the impact of long-term disability benefits on damages.